happy reading!
Daily Bulletin

CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Gabe Rosenthal

attachment 2Non-CGIers may not know that during period 2 on the third floor, a CGI student body of around 200 debate domestic and foreign issues, plan community events through various departments, and operate under their own government and constitution. The CGI presidential elections will be held this coming Monday, April 1st. After last week’s brief presidential debates, CGI students still have many questions about the candidates running for President and Vice President. To help inform you, The Bull has given each presidential candidate an equal opportunity to answer questions about themselves and their candidacy.

Tell The Bull a little bit about yourself. I have a younger sister and a couple cats. I love food, and I get a little carried away when it comes to the culinary arts. I row crew and do a lot of procrastinating. I watch a lot of Netflix and illegally streamed sporting events.

Why are you running for CGI President? I’m running for president because I want to restore the grandeur and magic that CGI had for me when I was a freshmen. I can remember being really excited about CGI and I feel like the institute has garnered a bit of a negative reputation lately. I’m looking to improve CGI internally. I think that CGI is headed in the right direction, but I think it needs a lot of fine tuning internally. I’m not looking to completely revamp the institute, or to implement huge radical changes. I want to take the system we currently have, trim the fat, and improve upon it. We can all agree that there was a lot of superfluous stuff added to CGI this year, and I’d like to fix that.

What one word would you say best describes CGI? Adventure; there’s always something going on in CGI. You never really know what’s coming around the corner.

What was your favorite CGI moment? My favorite CGI moment would have to be when Colonel Goynes came to speak to us. I was just so inspired by his experiences and riveted by his opinions and insight on leadership. He really made me put my time in CGI and in high school in perspective.

What do you think of the new Congress format? Congress feels off to me. I think there’s something good there. I like that we get to explore a debate and a bill more than we used to, but I think there’s a lot of unnecessary hassle involved. Congress definitely needs work.

Do you think CGI is politically balanced? Absolutely not. CGI is a predominantly liberal body. It’s the result of living in a predominantly liberal area. It’s not our fault, it’s just the environment in which we live. Our generation is very liberal and CGI’s political bias is a reflection of that.

Considering the changes made to 2nd period by teachers this year, how do you as a student propose to make substantive change next year? As a department chair, I hate 2nd period. It’s difficult to build enthusiasm and get my department excited without a regular schedule. Adding all these different period 2 activities made it much worse. I’d like to normalize period 2. I’d get rid of the bill writing and caucus days and I would try to make sure that we get at least one day in departments each week.

If you had the power to change one thing about CGI today, what would it be? I would put air conditioners in all the CGI classrooms. This is North Jersey, not the Sahara.

Are you in support of the changes made to CGI this year and the “new CGI”? There will always be a “new CGI” regardless of what year you look at. I think the current “new CGI” is flawed, and I don’t think piling on additional work and stress gets us anywhere.

What is your opinion on the amount of homework that is assigned in CGI classes? I just wish we didn’t have the boom bust cycles of work. High school is hard, I get it, but doing nothing for two weeks and then heaping assignments on top of essays on top of tests sucks.

What clubs or sports are you active in? I’m on the crew team, so I abandoned hope of free time a while ago. I’m also a member of Key Club.

What do you do in your free time? I play a lot of video games. I also love to cook and rouse rabble with my buds.

What is your favorite book, movie and food? My favorite book is My Father’s Dragon. My favorite movie is Blazing Saddles, and I kill for good steak.

What is your #1 pet peeve? I can’t stand when people chew in my ear. Just do that somewhere else.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Follow The Bull

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

