happy reading!
Clubs + Activities

CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Justin Murphy

Non-CGIers may not know that during period 2 on the third floor, a CGI student body of around 250 debate domestic and foreign issues, plan community events through various departments, and operate under their own government and constitution. This Tuesday, CGI will begin the process of electing a new President and Vice President for the 2012 – 2013 school year, kicking off the campaigns with the first round of debates. To help inform you, The Bull has given each presidential candidate (there are currently four Facebook officiated) an equal opportunity to answer questions about themselves and their candidacy.

Our last, but not least presidential candidate is Justin Murphy, class of 2013.

Tell The Bull a little bit about yourself. My name is Justin R. Murphy and I am 16 years old. As a little kid I lived all over the world: Warsaw, Poland; Sandton, South Africa; Orinda, California; and Montclair, New Jersey.

Why are you running for CGI President?  I am running for CGI President because I have a passion for government and politics and love the Institute. As President I think I could accomplish a lot.

Why did you join CGI?  I joined CGI because I have an interest in government and politics and that is exactly what CGI is.

What contributions have you made to CGI in the past two years?  This year I spearheaded the Bathroom clean up pledge and worked on the Health Symposium. I helped my older brother deliver canned donations to Tony’s Soup Kitchen to help the homeless. During sophomore year I helped plan Earth Day and made the weekly environment fact announcement.

If elected, what would be your objectives? What you be your #1 priority?  I have a very large agenda that I think will help bring the body together. My number one priority is to make CGI more productive and efficient. One way I will achieve this is with a new student mentoring system. I will keep an open door policy to make sure that I am in touch with the body at all times and am aware of any concerns. I want to be as accessible as possible.

What clubs are you active in? I am in the National Honors Society and Friends of Mills club.

Do you play any sports? I am a rower for Montclair High School. Last year I went to England with the crew team, had an undefeated freshman year, and won all golds and two silvers last year.

What do you do in your free time?  I am a very busy person between school, my sport, and other extra-curricular activities, but in my free time I enjoy reading, spending time with friends, playing video games, writing CGI Bills, and hanging out with my family.

What is your favorite book, movie and food? My favorite book is The Eagle and the Cross by R.J. Pineiro. My favorite movie is Alien vs. Predator (2004). My favorite food is my mom’s Chicken Parm.

What is your #1 pet peeve? My number one pet peeve is when everyone can’t get along.

What do you like best about MHS? My favorite thing about Montclair High School is the mixture of all ethnics groups, religions, sexual orientations, and economic status. The diverse student body has prepared me for the real world. I especially like how everyone in CGI is tolerant of each other and makes for a very comfortable learning environment.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Justin Murphy

  1. #TEAMJUSTIN

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:17 pm
  2. I heard Justin was running and I was going to scoff. Then today, I saw him up on that stage, and thought “well, he looks smart” but still ready to not want to vote for him at the end of the period. However, out of all of the five candidates today, Justin was the one who impressed me the most. From the get go, he was professional, courteous, and informative. He stood when the other candidates slouched in their seats, he introduced himself and his VP candidate with confidence and respect as the other candidates mumbled names, he not only highlighted problems he would try and fix or throw around “buzz words”, but he GAVE SOLUTIONS to the problems. Right now, Justin Murphy is THE CGI Presidential Candidate to pick, and the one I’ll be voting for come election time.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:37 pm
  3. Justin killed it in the debate today. I think he did the best, actually. I didn’t take him that seriously going in, but now I realize he’s a contender in this race. I thought I knew who I was voting for, but Justin could be getting my vote once we get around to voting.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:42 pm
  4. J-murph for president #based

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:45 pm
  5. J~murph

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:47 pm
  6. instead of looking at how justin performed in one debate it’s better to take into account his previous actions within cgi. he has had less leadership roles than any of the other candidates (as in none), demonstrates a less-than-serious attitude towards cgi, and hasn’t been particularly constructive in his departments, instead taking credit for the whole depts work. i’ve seen a generally arrogant and dismissive attitude from him over the last year. not my top choice.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 15, 2012, 12:22 am
  7. I disagree, going into the debate I thought he wasn’t going to take it seriously, but he performed amazingly. Unfortunately I cannot say that he has done much in CGI in retrospect. He definitely took credit for different department projects that he did not think of or create. Honestly I was impressed by the debate but I can’t vote for him just because of his ability to speak, rather I’d vote for him if he backed it up with his actions. If he was elected I fear it would be all talk and no action.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 15, 2012, 7:33 am
  8. Justin makes heterosexist comments both inside and outside school. weird for someone so proud of this schools mixture of sexual orientations.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 27, 2012, 10:00 pm
  9. I don’t know what anyone was thinking voting for him. He called someone born in the Uk a terrorist.
    #reasonsihatecgi
    #popularitycontest
    #peoplewhothinktheyrock

    Posted by Anonymous | October 29, 2012, 12:58 am

What do you think?

Follow The Bull

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

