happy reading!
Clubs + Activities

CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Jessie Gugig

Non-CGIers may not know that during period 2 on the third floor, a CGI student body of around 250 debate domestic and foreign issues, plan community events through various departments, and operate under their own government and constitution. This Tuesday, CGI will begin the process of electing a new President and Vice President for the 2012 – 2013 school year, kicking off the campaigns with the first round of debates. To help inform you, The Bull has given each presidential candidate (there are currently four Facebook officiated) an equal opportunity to answer questions about themselves and their candidacy.

Our forth presidential candidate is Jessie Gugig, class of 2013.

Tell The Bull a little bit about yourself. I’m stubborn and pretty goofy most of the time. I don’t get enough sleep according to everyone I know, and I’m just a little bit addicted to music. I like all kinds too, and I’m happy as long as it’s got a rhythm. My parents are divorced, and thanks in part to that fact, I’ve got four brothers, who I love enormously, even if they do drive me completely insane.

Why are you running for CGI President? I’m running because I honestly believe I can bring something to the job. There are definitely problems that need fixing in CGI, and things that we’re already doing right that could be improved upon. I’ve been listening to people’s complaints and suggestions, and I’m hoping that everybody will give me the chance to do something about them.

Why did you join CGI? I joined CGI because I wanted to do community service, and because I knew a good number people who’d done CGI and loved it. It sounded like a place I really wanted to be, and it turned out I was right; this place is pretty cool, even if we are kind of dysfunctional sometimes.

What contributions have you made to CGI in the past two years?  Last year I was a part of National Action, and worked with more people than I have the space to properly credit on getting the YPAR Youth Summit going. It was a big group effort; one I’m proud to have been a part of. This year I was elected Rules Chair and helped bring four separate bills through the various houses to passage even while the structure of debate and legislation was changing.

If elected, what would be your objectives? What you be your #1 priority?  I’ve actually got a lot of goals, which you can check out on the Facebook fanpage (www.Facebook.com/JessieforCGI), but I’d have to say that my number one priority is bringing back the sense of community that a lot of people, myself included, think is a little lacking this year. A lot of the things that people used to really love, like the Missing Manos Mystery went away  this year, and I’d like to bring them back on an afterschool basis so that anyone who wanted to would have an opportunity to get these events back. Something else I really want to do is expand CGI’s base of service, and try to make it possible for students to volunteer with the Interfaith Hospitality Network for school credit as well as continuing to work with Toni’s Soup Kitchen.

If you had the power, what would you change to improve CGI?  If I had the ability to do it, I’d really like to expand the leadership opportunities for sophomores, especially during the second semester. Usually by the second semester, the sophomores of CGI have a better idea of what’s going on and the kind of things they want to be doing here, so I’d definitely like to make it easier for them to get into leadership positions so that they can contribute as much as they want to.

What clubs are you active in?  I’m interested in storytelling, and as part of that, I joined the Cartooning Club in freshman year. Now I’m the Vice President of the club and I wouldn’t change that since working with other kids on the stories that they invent is just awesome. Last year and the year before I was a part of SVPA’s Tech Crew, but I haven’t been a part of that this year – something I really regret, so I’m planning to return for the musical. I also got involved with the Model UN Club this year and will be going on my second conference with them in a few weeks.

Do you play any sports?  Not on a team for the school, no. I’m really clumsy and uncoordinated, so I’m pretty bad at most sports. But I love to run, swim, hike; anything that will get me outdoors in good weather. Then during the winter when it gets too cold for everything else, I ski.

What do you do in your free time?  I write short stories for a book I’ve been putting together for the last few months and listen to music. I catch up on the shows I watch and practice singing. But most of all, whenever I get the chance, I read.

What is your favorite book, movie and food?  Okay, that’s tough. My favorite book changes all the time, though one that I keep coming back to is The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien. My favorite movie is easily Casablanca; I just really love that movie. It’s so well done. My favorite food is a tie between green apples and cheap microwave mac ‘n’ cheese.

What is your #1 pet peeve?  That’s a tough one, but I think it’s probably when other people say insensitive things as if that’s something that’s totally okay for them to do. Stuff like calling other people “fag” or saying “that’s so gay,” or making fun of students with learning disabilities. It’s not okay, and it drives me nuts that very few people say anything when they hear stuff like it and that so many people talk like that here.

What do you like best about MHS?  I love how totally insane life here is. You never know what’s going to happen next, and just trying to get through the hallways can be an adventure. Walking through the school once Cartooning lets out and finding out that the Architecture Club is using exacto knives to carve pumpkins while the African Drum Club is practicing and the Ukulele Club is fighting to be heard over them; what other school can say they’ve got that going for them?

Discussion

7 thoughts on “CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Jessie Gugig

  1. Jessie’s definitely the dark horse right now, but I think she could maybe get some votes if she and Kyle step it up in the next two debates. Their challenge will be proving they have the charisma for the job, I think.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:40 pm
  2. I think that Jessie’s biggest problem at the moment is her people skills, and the way she presents herself and her ideas. If she fixes that, she can be just as big a competitor in this as some of the others.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:48 pm
  3. her lack of a facebook is hurting her campaign.. she needs to make herself more available

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 11:14 pm
  4. Jessie sounds so intelligent in this interview, I wish she could have as much charisma in person

    Posted by Anonymous | February 15, 2012, 3:54 pm
  5. Jessie listens to the people around her, a facebook was requested and now she has one. She believes in this institute, and she is willing to do anything to prove to you guys that she can do this.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2012, 10:39 pm

What do you think?

Follow The Bull

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

