happy reading!
Clubs + Activities

CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Steven DeSalvo

Non-CGIers may not know that during period 2 on the third floor, a CGI student body of around 250 debate domestic and foreign issues, plan community events through various departments, and operate under their own government and constitution. This Tuesday, CGI will begin the process of electing a new President and Vice President for the 2012 – 2013 school year, kicking off the campaigns with the first round of debates. To help inform you, The Bull has given each presidential candidate (there are currently four Facebook officiated) an equal opportunity to answer questions about themselves and their candidacy.

Our third presidential candidate is Steven DeSalvo, class of 2013.

Tell The Bull a little bit about yourself.  My name is Steven DeSalvo, I’ve been interested in government for as long as I can remember, whether it was in the actual structure of it, or just pointing out every injustice in the world.

Why are you running for CGI President? The reason I’m running for CGI president is that I’m worried about the condition of this institute. I love it to death, and I don’t like when I hear all of the complaints about it. So my theory is simple; solve the problems; whatever people have an issue with, try to deal with it.

Why did you join CGI? To be honest I joined CGI to argue with people. I heard about the debates and that was enough for me. Since I’ve matured in my old age its become more about helping the community and working towards important goals.

What contributions have you made to CGI in the past two years? In the past two years I helped create the first annual youth summit at MSU which brought in students from all around the state to discuss issues that were negatively effecting their community and brainstorm solutions. I also worked on the Hispanic Heritage Month symposium and raised awareness about the issues regarding the US Farm Bill.

If elected, what would be your objectives? What you be your #1 priority? Our objectives (my VP and I) are simple enough. We aim to get our fellow students inspired and excited by CGI again and to to focus our campaign on a few fundamentals. They are unity, communication, action, and timeliness. Unity means keeping CGI as a strong body, communication means keeping everyone informed and in the loop, action means working in our community and having a positive effect on our town, state, and country, and finally timeliness means getting all things expected of us done well, and in a timely manner.

What clubs are you active in? I’m active in Debate Club, and my pride and joy, the recently renamed Auto Club. [The Bull wrote an article about the then Car Club here]

Do you play any sports? If I weren’t so horribly out of shape I might play a sport, but seriously I don’t play sports because I have trouble finding the time.

What do you do in your free time? I am an avid cook. Just recently I made a birthday meal for 20 people – note only one of them actually had a birthday that day, but there were 20 people there.  I also love cars, so anything car related I might do.

What is your favorite book, movie and food? My favorite book might be Angels and Demons; its a really great read. As far as movies go, I really can’t name a single one…maybe Inception for action/thriller, Harold and Kumar 2 for comedy, and Pride and Prejudice for that ‘make you emotional’ drama.

What is your #1 pet peeve? Probably mispronunciation of Italian food items.

What do you like best about MHS? My favorite thing is the freedom that students have. They can leave for lunch, join things like CGI and CSJ, and the people here are pretty great too.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Steven DeSalvo

  1. Steven really needs to be more professional about his campaign. It might seem like a little thing, but during debates today he was slouching horribly, and spewing out things that just did not make much sense. Right now, the only thing that seems to be going for him is the fact that he has a sophomore VP. Step it up Steven!

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 4:10 pm
  2. Just going by his overall reputation and attitude, Steven does not seem capable to handle the Presidency seriously.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 6:22 pm
  3. i tink steven cn do it all lol k bai

    Posted by Tookie | February 14, 2012, 10:35 pm

What do you think?

Follow The Bull

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

