happy reading!
Clubs + Activities

CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Jake Ephros

Non-CGIers may not know that during period 2 on the third floor, a CGI student body of around 250 debate domestic and foreign issues, plan community events through various departments, and operate under their own government and constitution. This Tuesday, CGI will begin the process of electing a new President and Vice President for the 2012 – 2013 school year, kicking off the campaigns with the first round of debates. To help inform you, The Bull has given each presidential candidate (there are currently four Facebook officiated) an equal opportunity to answer questions about themselves and their candidacy.

Our first presidential candidate is Jake Ephros, class of 2013.

Tell The Bull a little bit about yourself.  I am a Junior in CGI, and I like to be in charge of things, honestly. I have divorced parents, three cats, and a dog with whom I grew up but recently passed away. I have one sister who is in college now.

Why are you running for CGI President? I really do like to lead. It’s something that I can feel really good about, knowing that I am responsible for a situation, and then organizing it well. I want to be the President of CGI because of this, I know I would do a good job handling the responsibility with which the position comes.

Why did you join CGI? I joined CGI because it seemed like a place where I could really excel.

What contributions have you made to CGI in the past two years? I have been the class president of 2013 within CGI the past two years. In that position I have organized a sweatshirt fundraiser, raising over $200 for the local organization Brother to Brother. I recently set up the class meetings for this year, and am now working on another sweatshirt fundraiser. But I have also been doing the community service that every CGI student is supposed to do. I volunteered at Interfaith Hospitality Network last week and am going back tomorrow. I also went to the Farmer’s Market on Food Day and volunteered with the other CGI kids there. 

If elected, what would be your objectives? What would you be your #1 priority? I have a good number of objectives. To list a few: expanding communication/transparency in the institute, reforming the Executive/Judicial department and reforming the department rubric and mentoring. One subject I would really like to focus on is making it easier to get an actual bill or resolution passed through all bodies of CGI, and not just have such legislation affect only the CGI constitution or some logistical matter. I would love to see the 250-some student body make an impact on MHS, or the whole town.

If you had the power, what would you change to improve CGI? As I said in my objectives, I want to simplify a lot of pretty complex aspects of the institute. I’d like to see a leaner learning community, more focused on doing than checking up on how much we’re doing.

What clubs are you active in? I am active in the Model UN and Model Congress Club. I won Outstanding Delegation with Julian Lucas at Model UN last year and Best Position Paper with David Epstein at the more recent Model UN. Towards the end of the month I will be going to Philadelphia Model UN and in March, the Pennsylvania Model Congress.

Do you play any sports? As much as I love to exercise, I don’t do any sports; they just are not my calling. My running mate, Jackson Brietzke, however, has been the captain of his track team for a few years now!

What do you do in your free time? In my free time I do what a lot of kids do. I drive around with my friends, going to movies and getting food in town. I also love to write and really would like to create a film this summer.

What is your favorite book, movie and food? My favorite book is Ender’s Game; my favorite movie… there are far too many to talk about. Recently, the movie Drive, with Ryan Gosling, directed by Nicolas Winding Refn, has been one of my favorites. My favorite food is probably anything with Japanese udon noodles.

What is your #1 pet peeve? It may seem lame, but my biggest pet peeve is ingratitude. People not being thankful for all that they have really irks me.

What do you like best about MHS? I love that Montclair High School is such a diverse place. Everyone says that, right? And I mean diverse, not integrated, unfortunately. But MHS is better than most in that there are so many different kinds of students, not just in regard to race, but in terms of interest. Here I am running for CGI President, while you’re interviewing me for your website about the school, while there’s an auto shop full of kids ready to fix another student’s flat tire, and so on and so on. It’s a big place full of crazy people, and I kind of like it that way.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “CGI Presidential Elections: an Interview with Jake Ephros

  1. Jake and Jackson are great, but I think that Mabel and Hayden will give them a run for their money!

    Posted by Anonymous | February 12, 2012, 9:35 pm
  2. ANARCHY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted by Anonymous | February 13, 2012, 9:38 pm
  3. Jake was also disappointing at the debates today. While it might be that I expect more from him—being the 2013 CGI class president and all—but his arguments as a whole lacked substance or preparation. Unfortunately, he was still my second favorite candidate (second to surprisingly Justin Murphy who did EXCELLENT today—who also was the only one to stand up during debates today, which was more professional of him). The candidates really need to affirm their values, state HOW they will get things done (not just WHAT) and present a more solid and clear platform

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 4:07 pm
  4. Jake and Jackson would do a good job, but I’m really leaning towards giving someone else a chance to lead…

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:37 pm
  5. jake and jackson will be a really talented ticket, but jake has been cgi 2013 president 2 years in a row and nothing has been done except a small sweatshirt sale that donated to one cause. other than that he hasnt done much.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:49 pm
  6. Jake disappointed me today. I know he has the ability to rule well, and that he has great ideas, but that just was not communicated to body today at the debates. If Jake can step up to the plate and show what he can do, I know he will do well. Until then though, Jake is not my first pick after todays debates.

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:53 pm
  7. Jake talks a big game about being the sophomore and junior president, but really, what does he have to show for it? One fundraiser and a class meeting which is required by the CGI constitution………..

    Posted by Anonymous | February 14, 2012, 10:55 pm
  8. so cute

    Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2012, 11:53 pm

What do you think?

Follow The Bull

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

