happy reading!
Movies

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1

Breaking Dawn: Part 1 movie poster. Courtesy of fanpop.com

Last Saturday night I went out to see The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 at the Bellevue Theatre. I was underwhelmed to say the least. The fourth film in the Twilight series is about two of the main protagonists, Edward Cullen (a vampire, played by Robert Pattinson) and Bella Swan (a human, played by Kristen Stewart). Bella is 18 and Edward is perpetually 17 since the early 1900’s. These two have had a strange relationship with an strong connection over the course of this series considering the circumstances (predator vs. prey). In this movie Bella and Edward decide to get married much to the chagrin of her werewolf best friend, Jacob, played by Taylor Lautner, who happens to be in love with Bella. They ignore this and get married anyway, then they go on their honeymoon, have sex, and Bella gets pregnant. I’m not going to spoil the ending for you (assuming you decide to see the movie) because everything I just told you could be seen in a trailer.

I think that if you are someone who can overlook your feelings of disbelief for this film, you might have enjoyed watching it.  But if you have views similar to my own, you probably won’t. This is only because while the plot could have developed nicely and the characters could have given you something, they didn’t. It made me kind of sad because I was hoping to like the movie. The dialogue was very cliché and the acting seemed very mediocre and forced. This also made me distressed because the two lead actors, Pattinson and Stewart are actually very talented. I have seen them both separately in really phenomenal films where I was blown away by their performance. So it must be the script. That is the only reason I can think of that would explain why these actors performed so poorly. One of my favorite lines in the movie (and by favorite I mean most laughable in a pitiful sense) was the night before the wedding. Bella and Edward are in her bedroom and he says, “I’ll see you at the altar;” to which she responds, “I’ll be the one in white.” WHAT?! Did that really just happen? I’m not going to harp on the terrible dialogue and the bad acting because there are other things I should probably address.

There was also a very strange point in the movie that was kind of hard to describe. In this scene, the wolf pack that Jacob is part of are all in werewolf form and they communicate telepathically and you could hear their inner dialogue amongst themselves. It was just very…odd. I don’t know how else to describe it. It made me sort of uncomfortable in a sense. I can’t really tell you why, though. Just know, it was strange and uncomfortable and be prepared. Another thing I should address is the PG-13 rating. I think there was a little too much blood and vulgarity for that rating to apply. While I can understand that most people, thirteen and older can handle that, many children younger than thirteen usually attend movies such as this. You don’t see the gory stuff in trailers so parental discretion isn’t something that can really come into play. But I guess they will know when their children are having nightmares and parents are writing angry e-mails to studios.

Although there were many things that I didn’t like about this movie, I do have to say that there were aspects of it that were decent. The plot idea itself definitely stood out from other movies I have seen recently. It was creative; I’ve never heard of a vampire baby movie… the only reason the plot may seem tired to an outsider is because this series has been going on way too long. My guess is that the only real reason they split the last book into two movies is because they wanted to make more money off of the project and drag it out for as long as possible. The idea is not tired due to it being done already, it’s tired within its own storyline! But, I promised I would focus on the positive parts in this paragraph. The score was exceptional! (I bet you didn’t expect me to use that word.) I really loved the music. Carter Burwell is a fantastic composer and he really made the story come to life through the score. At points when I was bored with the movie, I compensated my boredom with listening to the music playing. Finally, I thought the cinematography was very appropriate for the film, so I congratulate the cameramen and editors for their fine work.

As a whole, I disliked the film. But, if you are a movie watcher who comes to see hot guys with their shirts off, then you will definitely enjoy this film. Or, if you want to take a nap and spend $11 to do so, then this movie is for you. Also, if you were a fan of the book series, it is practically identical in plot so you won’t be disappointed. Last but not least, if you enjoy the little things in film such as fine camera work/cinematography and can appreciate a good score, you may find yourself enjoying this movie.

The choice is yours.

Did you already see this movie? Are you looking forward to seeing it? Let us know in the comments section

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1

  1. Your judgement of the film is pretty obvious. Perhaps you should be a little less critical?

    Posted by Anonymous | November 23, 2011, 8:20 pm

What do you think?

Follow The Bull

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

